Strawberry Oatmeal Bars

As if I didn’t already have enough sweets…I could not resist trying to make these Strawberry Oatmeal Bars.  The recipe is from Ree Drummond, The Pioneer Woman, on the Food Network.   I must admit, that I truly love a bunch of her recipes.  That woman just has great taste!  So here is a link to the recipe –> Strawberry Oatmeal Bars.  

  

Don’t they look just delicious?!?!  I mean seriously!  So I came upon this recipe because I had a batch of puréed strawberries from this Spring.  See I live in FL and our strawberry season is early in the first quarter of the year.  We had picked a ton of strawberries this year and I decided to purée the leftovers and froze them.  Well looking at my freezer stash, I realized I needed to find something to do with this strawberry purée. When I googled strawberry recipes, Ree’s came up.  Boy am I glad it did!

This recipe is super easy.  Again, you all know I’m not a baker.  But I’m not sure you can count these bars as officially a baking type thing.  I mean it really is just too easy.  Dump some oatmeal with flour, brown sugar, butter, salt and baking powder and voila…it’s magic!   Now Ree’s recipe calls for salted butter, but I used unsalted.  I never use salted butter.  And I’m glad I did.  I think if I used salted butter, it would be too salty.  I also have to say that her recipe calls for using any flavored jam.   My strawberry purée was naturally sweet but not overtly.  Which I think you’d expect from a natural purée.  Store bought jams tend to have a lot of sugar.  So my recommendation would be to cut down the 1 cup of brown sugar to 1/2 – 3/4.  The 1 cup though was perfect with my purée.

I also saw some comments about how it didn’t fit into a 9×13 pan.  Personally mine fit perfect.  I had doubts when I was putting it into the pan, but after it baked and expanded, it was perfect.  Here’s a picture of my finished pan.

  
Doesn’t that just look yummy???!!!  My kitchen smelled amazing!  And bonus…it only took 30 mins to bake!  See…told ya it was easy!

For me, this is a recipe that will definitely be sticking!  Try it out!  Thanks Ree!  As always, you rock!

IMG_1775

Leave a Reply

