Rice Pudding – the ultimate comfort food

In my book, there’s nothing more comforting than a big bowl of Rice Pudding….specifically, my Nana’s Rice Pudding.  Now my Nana’s recipe is pretty simple and one that I don’t deviate from at all.  But it’s been so long since I made it, that when I thought of doing it this morning, I couldn’t remember the exact measurements.  I’m sure my Nana is rolling over in her grave right now thinking how I could have possibly forgotten her recipe.

So I went to Pinterest to find a recipe.  And since Pinterest never lets me down, I found one that was pretty darn close to my Nana’s.  So for everyone that loves rice pudding, here it is:  https://youngwifey.wordpress.com/2011/06/29/nanny-floridas-old-fashioned-rice-pudding/.

ricepudding

This recipe is about as close as it gets to my Nana’s.  So I thought I’d post it for anyone who likes rice pudding.  Many recipes use eggs to make the custard. Not my Nana’s.  No eggs needed and it turns out perfect every time.  So for anyone that has egg allergies, which both my boys do, this recipe is perfect!

I later had lunch with my sister, who reminded me of the measurements for my Nana’s recipe.  So of course I used that.  So I’ll post her recipe as well.

Nana’s Rice Pudding

1/2 cup long grain rice (uncooked)

1/3 cup sugar

4 cups milk (whole is preferred)

1 tsp vanilla

3 sticks of cinnamon

1/4 tsp salt

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.  Pour milk into saucepan and heat milk until scalding.  Remove from heat.  Place uncooked rice in a pot and cover with water.  Boil rice for 15 mins.  Remove rice and drain.  In a pyrex baking dish, combine rice, salt, cinnamon and vanilla and milk.  Stir to dissolve sugar.  Place in oven and back for 1 1/2 – 2 hrs.  Stir pudding every 15 mins.  If scalding occurs on top, skim it off with a spoon.  Once rice has absorbed all the milk and the pudding comes together, remove from oven.  Let sit.   Enjoy!

Close to the one I found.  One difference is butter.  My Nana’s doesn’t use any.  

Here’s a pic of my pudding after it cooked.  Soooooo delicious!  Like a big hug from my Nana!  Love it!
  
This will always STICK in my book!  

Try either recipe….you’ll be glad you did!

IMG_1775

Leave a Reply

