Chocolate Devils

When I was pregnant with my daughter, aka “Kid 1”, I had two food cravings.  One was for Baskin Robbin’s strawberry milkshakes.  I seriously had them every day.  Probably why I gained 60 lbs.  But that’s a whole other story.  The second craving was for Hostess Ho-Ho’s…or devil cakes as some people like to call them.  OMG.  I think I ate an entire box (or two) per week!  Love, love, love them!  Well, I came across this recipe from the Pioneer Woman, Ree Drummond, on the Food Network for Chocolate Devils.

Click for recipe here –>  Chocolate Devils

Seriously this is a must try!  How yummy do those look?!!?!  Although, I will warn you.   It is fairly time consuming.   I opted not to do the smaller Devils that Ree does.  It seemed easier for this inexperienced baker.  I also left off the cherries.  I’m just not a cherry fan.  Though I am sure it would be delicious with this cake.

My kids take after me when it comes to sweets.  They just aren’t cake eaters.  Typically we usually do donuts, Rice Krispy treats or ice cream for their birthdays.  But this cake…well…it’s changed everything!  They all love it!  Finally a cake we all can enjoy!  Here’s what my cake looked like when I was done.  Ok so it’s not as fancy or as pretty as the pic on Food Network.  But I guarantee it is just as tasty!

IMG_7387
This recipe sticks and will be in our family forever!  Try it and let me know what you think!

IMG_1775

Leave a comment