Crab, crab and more crab

Yesterday, we decided to get some crabs to celebrate our daughter coming home from camp.  She loves crabs so what better way to celebrate than to have one of her favorite foods!  It was only my husband, my daughter and myself eating.  Her younger brothers are both allergic to shellfish so they stay away.  We got 18 crabs and ate all but 10.   Which left me with the obvious question…..what should I make with the leftovers?!?!!?

Well, my first answer was to make crab cakes.  But I wasn’t sure if we’d have enough crab to make more than a couple small cakes.  So what’s the next best thing????  Crab soup!!  So on to the Internet I went to find a low carb option.  Yes, we are still low carb eating.   And this is what I found……

 Low Carb Crab Soup on FoodieDateNight food blog.  This recipe appealed to me because it was 1. Easy and 2. Similar to what I would normally do myself.

Having said that, I still made some changes to the recipe.  First, the recipe calls for fennel.  I am not a huge fennel fan.  I recognize its flavor profile, being sweet licorice, is a great compliment for seafood.  But for me, I don’t like the flavor enough to add it.  Plus I didn’t feel like buying any at the store.  Second, the recipe also calls for adding Parmesan cheese to the soup.  Call me a crab soup purist, but adding cheese to a cream of crab soup is just a big NO! for this Maryland native.  Lastly, instead of white wine, I opted to use Sherry cooking wine.  I chose Sherry wine because it’s a natural addition to most bisque recipes, which this recipe reminds me of.

Other than those changes, the only other thing I did was to add a bit more Old Bay because, well, I’m from Maryland and we love our Old Bay!  The recipe itself is fast and easy.  It really only took me 30 minutes to get it ready.  Oh, I also added some green beans to my soup.  I felt like I needed some veggie to go with my dinner and instead of eating it separately, I figured I would add it to the soup.

2015/06/img_2478.jpg

Doesn’t that just look delish?!?!!!!  Well it was!  For anyone loving some more carbs, adding potato and some corn would be absolute heaven in this soup!

As you can guess, this recipe is a sticker for sure!!!!

2015/06/img_17756.png

Leave a Reply

