Happy Cinco de Mayo – celebrate with some easy Sopapillas!

Who doesn’t love Cinco de Mayo!?!?  We celebrate it every year.  Ironically, most people don’t even know what the holiday is about, including me.  So if you are part of that crowd, here’s a refresher.

Cinco de Mayo commemorates the Mexican army’s unlikely victory over the French forces of Napoleon III on May 5, 1862, at the Battle of Puebla.

Mexico had troubles paying back war debts to European countries, and France had come to Mexico to collect that debt.  Cinco de Mayo has become more of an American holiday than a Mexican one. But most non-Mexican Americans don’t know the origination of the holiday and if you were one of them, now you know!  You’re welcome!  Now let’s talk easy Sopapillas!

Now like any other American that loves this holiday, my husband and I had already planned to go out and drink at a local brewery.  I know, I know.  That’s not a margarita.  Sadly, I swore off tequila after a bad run-in back in my mid 20’s.   So for me, I am going to just stick with beer.   To celebrate the holiday, my daughter, I affectionately call “Kid 1”, asked if I could make Sopapillas.  I love that my kids just think I know how to cook everything.  She takes Spanish in school, so that’s where she heard of Sopapillas.  I also took Spanish in High School, which was about the last time I made them.

As you’d guess, I decided to consult the internet, as everyone does, looking for recipes that were quick and easy.  And I did.  I also found one, not so simple recipe.  And being a bit shy about baking from my recent debacle with the galette…I decided to stick with the easy ones.

One recipe that I found used crescent rolls.  Well that couldn’t be easier!  Sign me up!  The recipe is from a site called Ohbiteit.com.  Here is a link to the recipe:  http://www.ohbiteit.com/2012/08/crescent-sopapillas.html.

sopaserve

And just as advertised, it was super easy!  You just take crescent rolls, cut them into triangles and then fry them.  Drizzle them with powdered sugar or honey or both and voila!  Here’s how mine turned out!

2015/05/img_1911.jpg

So as you can see it looks yummy!  But mine turned out a bit oily.  I wasn’t a fan.  It tasted ok in parts that weren’t soaked in oil.  I don’t know what I did wrong there.  I checked Ohbiteit.com’s recipe for comments and saw that there was one comment (out of a lot) that had the same issue as mine.  So maybe I did something wrong.  Ohbiteit recommended to fry at a lower temp. Maybe I’ll try that next time.  Because of the oiliness, I think I’m undecided about whether this recipe sticks.  So for now, it’s just an Okay from me.

2015/05/img_1777.png**********************************************************************************************************************

On to the second recipe!  So the second, easy recipe is made with puff pastry.  Again, how super easy right?!?!  The recipe I found was on a blog called KitchenMeetsGirl.  Here is a link to her recipe:  http://kitchenmeetsgirl.com/so-easy-sopapillas/

so-easy-sopapillas-title-1

These easy sopapillas come out exactly as the picture looks! And it truly is super easy and fast.  You seriously don’t do anything but thaw out puff pastry, bake and then sprinkle with sugar and/or honey.  Now I will say, these are not exactly authentic….but who cares?!?  They are delish!!!!!  Here’s how mine looked when they came out!

2015/05/img_1912.jpg

So for me, this recipe definitely sticks!  And Kid 1 approved!!!  Try both and let me know what you think!

2015/05/img_1775-0.png

Leave a Reply

