Blueberries and cheesecake…a combination to try?

Blueberries are my absolute favorite fruit! I just love to cook with them! I don’t think you could really make anything bad with them. I was craving something sweet the other day so I decided to make something with my favorite fruit! I came across this yummy looking recipe for a blueberry cheesecake galette. A galette is just a fancy word for an open face flat pie. This recipe I found on Foodnetwork’s site. Here is a link to it: Blueberry Cheesecake Galette.

2015/05/img_1907-1.png

Doesn’t that just look yummy???? The recipe has you making homemade crust. Definitely not my forte! In the past, I’ve never been that successful with baking. But I decided to try it anyway. I made a vow to myself a couple years ago that I would try baking more. So I am biting the bullet and trying this recipe.

The crust is pretty easy to make and comes together quickly. My problem was rolling it out. I was all thumbs. The dough kept sticking to the parchment paper. Uggh. It definitely did not come very easy for me. But I managed and got it done.

The blueberry mixture and the cheesecake mixtures were thankfully super easy. I used frozen blueberries. Big mistake. When my galette was cooking, the juices became too watery and it leaked out. Because of that, I would opt for fresh blueberries. Or if using frozen, I would just make sure they were completely thawed.

2015/05/img_1801-0.jpg

Here’s my galette. Ta da!!!! I decided to add some powdered sugar on top to make it look a bit more appetizing. Not sure if I accomplished that.

2015/05/img_18021.jpg

So is this recipe a sticker? For me, I don’t think so. The likelihood of me making this again is pretty slim. It tasted good. My hubby and daughter both liked it. But it was messy and after refrigerating the leftovers, it became hard as a rock and wasn’t appetizing at all. So for me, I’m going to have to give this recipe a big thumbs down.

Time to look for another sweet recipe to try!

2015/05/img_1776-0.png

Leave a Reply

