Vegan cream of broccoli soup

Now I love the original fat laden Cream of Broccoli recipes too.  But today is the first day of my 21 day eat clean detox.  My husband and I have done several detoxes in the past, but we found one that we absolutely love.  It is on the Whole Living website and is called the 2013 Whole Living Action Plan.  Here is a link to it:  2013 Whole Living Action Plan.  

They have other plans from other years as well, but we liked the recipes best from this year.   The plan basically has you eating only fruits, veggies, nuts, seeds and lentils in the first week.  Sounds hard right?  I thought so too until we tried it!  Their recipes are super yummy and boy did our bodies love it!   You should check it out!  Each week, you add back things like dairy and protein.  It closely matches a vegan diet.  Yes I said vegan!  You can stop cringing.  It really is delicious and super healthy!  Now go look at it.  I’ll wait.

  
Did you look at it???  Good!  So I decided I would follow the plan loosely this time.  The actual plan gives you the recipes and grocery lists for what you need to eat for every meal.  I know right?!?!?  Yes, they make it super easy and fool proof.  But since I’ve done it several times, I know the ingredients we need to stick to, so I am going to modify it a bit.   Since I’ve done several of those recipes in the past, I’ll do a post about the ones that stick and the ones that didn’t in the future.  But back to this post….time to talk broccoli soup.  

The action plan has you eating broccoli soup for lunch on Day 2 and dinner on Days 1 and 3.  Their recipe calls for avocado to thicken your soup.  I love avocado, but for us, it just tastes funky in broccoli soup.  Plus I don’t like my soup too thick.  Don’t get me wrong, it works like magic in making the soup creamy and thick.  But I just wasn’t happy with the taste.  Today I decided to look up some vegan cream of broccoli soups and I found one that looked easy.   It was on a site called Hummusapien.com.  She uses cashew cream to make the soup creamy.  I love cashews!  Let’s do this!!

What’s the end result???  This recipe is definitely sticking in my vegan recipe book!  It gave a such a creamy consistency to my soup and tastes awesome.  Cashew cream is so sweet and creamy and fluffy.  And easy!!  Go figure!  You can use it in place of sour cream in traditional recipes.  But to make it a bit more sour, you should add a touch of apple cider vinegar.  Either way, try it!

  

Ok I’m not a photographer and it is hard to make anything green look appetizing.  But this is a very delicious soup!  Here’s a link to her recipe:  Vegan Cream of Broccoli.  Her pics are way better for sure!

I didn’t follow her recipe exactly.  I left out the carrots and celery.  I’m not a big fan of a mirapoux to start my broccoli soup.  I also added nutritional yeast to my soup in the end.  Don’t worry….it may look like sawdust, but nutritional yeast contains B12 which is a very essential vitamin.  Plus it adds a bit of a cheesy flavor that I thought would go nice in the soup.  And it did!  I get mine at a local health food store.

  
All in all, this recipe rocks!  If you’re looking for a vegan, nutritious cream of broccoli soup….take it from me…..this STICKS!!!


******************************************************************************


  

2015/04/img_17752.png

Leave a Reply

