It’s all about the beef – Crockpot Shredded Beef

It’s the weekend and time to relax right?!?  Well not if you have 3 kids all with activities planned and you won’t be home all day.   So today I’m using my crock pot to get dinner ready.  Crock pots are one of the greatest inventions made to help busy Mom’s year round!!  I just love, love, love crock pot cooking!  Can you tell how much I enjoy my crock pot??? Ha! Ha!    Notice how my knob is melted?!  That’s a story for another day!  Ha!  But let me tell you, it doesn’t stop me from  using it as often as I can! So back to the beef.  Once we finally get home this afternoon, I’m banking on having some yummy shredded beef to use in either tacos or enchiladas or even a light salad.  I haven’t decided..  Ha!  Sound good?  I know! I can’t wait!  I found this yummy looking recipe on Grandmabeesrecipes.com that I had to try.  Here is the link: Crockpot Shredded Beef.   Stay tuned and I’ll let you know how it turns out!  Fingers crossed this one sticks!

***************************************************************************************

Easy Shredded Beef

2-1/2 lb. chuck roast

1 cup beef broth (I use a beef boullion cube dissolved in hot water)

1 teaspoon cumin

1 tablespoon chili powder

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

1/2 teaspoon onion powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

1/4 teaspoon dried oregano

1 small can diced green chiles

2 tablespoons lime juice

There is no need to brown the roast prior to putting it into the crock pot. Spray the crock pot with non-stick spray first. Combine the dry spices in a small dish and set aside.

Place the roast in the crock pot and pour the beef broth over top. Drizzle lime juice over the roast and sprinkle with the dry seasonings. Spoon green chiles over the roast. Cover and cook on low heat about 8 hours or until fork tender.

Drain, or spoon off most of the liquid. Use two forks to shred the beef into small chunks.

Leave a Reply

