Cauliflower pizza crust…yay or nay?


I definitely give cauliflower pizza crust a big YAY!!  I absolutely adore it!  I was given the recipe, linked below, last year from a friend, and decided to give it a try.  I have tried cauliflower mashed potatoes before, so I thought, Why not?!?!.  I’m not a huge fan of cauliflower by itself, but I figured I’d give it a go.  Boy was I a happy camper!  Here’s a link to the recipe from a site called SavoryLotus.com http://www.savorylotus.com/cauliflower-crust-pizza-with-caramelized-onions-and-olives/.

Now I will admit, I adjusted the recipe to meet my husband and I’s taste.  But isn’t that what you’re supposed to do?!?  *nodding yes*  For us, I added another 1/2 cup of cheese. What can I say?!  I LOVE cheese!!!  I also kept my seasoning pretty basic…salt, pepper and garlic powder.  I have tried it with oregano and it was fine…could barely taste it.  So figured I’d just leave it out.

Before:   

During:


After:

As for the pizza…well you can mix and match your ingredients any way you’d like.  Don’t like Carmelized onions?  Swap it for pepperoni!  Olives make your stomach churn?  Substitute sausage.  Make this however you’d like.  The point is that the basic recipe for the crust is the bomb!   The pics above of us making a mushroom pizza.  And man was it good!
Oh and by the way, this is definitely something to keep in your freezer for later!  I try to keep 2 crusts in my freezer at all times!  I’ll cut these up and make them into pizza sticks.  You can make smaller ones for a pizza for one.  Or even make smaller as “tortillas” for an enchilada bake.  Oh yes, that’s happening.  Stay tuned for that recipe!

This recipe definitely sticks!  Try it and let me know what you think!

***************************************************************************************************

Cauliflower Crust Pizza

Ingredients

  • 1 large head of cauliflower (cut into florets, stems removed)
  • 1½ cups mozzarella (or other hard cheese), grated OR 4 oz. soft goat cherve
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp oregano, dried
  • 1 tsp garlic powder, dried
  • ½ tsp celtic sea salt
  • For Pizza Topping:
  • ¾ cup pizza sauce
  • AND TOPPINGS OF CHOICE
Directions
  1. Preheat oven to 400′ F
  2. Process florets, in batches, in food processor until resembles consistency of rice
  3. Place 4 cups of cauliflower “rice” into medium pot. Sprinkle with a pinch of salt and 2 TBS water. Cover and steam on medium heat for 6-7 minutes, until soft but not mushy. Stir occasionally
  4. Place a clean dish towel over a large bowl and carefully dump cooked cauliflower onto towel. Allow to cool for 10 minutes
  5. Gather up the ends of the dish towel, wrapping the cauliflower mixture inside and gently squeeze out ALL of the water into the bowl (Try to get it all out. This prevents soggy crust. Trust me!!)
  6. Combine squeezed out cauliflower with remaining ingredients and mix thoroughly
  7. Using your hands, spread the ‘dough’ into a thin layer on a cookie sheet covered with parchment paper
  8. Bake for 35-40 minutes at 400′ F until uniformly brown
  9. Allow to cool
  10. Spread pizza sauce onto crust. Add your toppings
  11. Bake for 10 minutes at 400′ F
Leave a Reply

